Collection

> Visit the gallery

 Since its creation in 1980, the Société des amis du Musée international d'horlogerie (amisMIH) has contributed to the enrichment of the collections of the museum in an exemplary way; in fact, the statutes of the society stipulate that membership fees and other donations collected have to be used for the purchase of collection items and the highlighting of their presentation.

From 1988, under the presidency of Claude Laesser, the Société des amisMIH adopted new statutes comprising a new category of members, sponsoring members, mainly composed of watchmaking companies, who provide the Société des amis with a substantial budget, most of which is allotted to the purchase of horological items intended to enhance the collection of the MIH. This welcome contribution makes it possible, to a large extent, to complement the public purchasing budgets granted to the museum by the town of La Chaux-de-Fonds.

It has therefore been possible to realise important purchases, carried out at the main auctioneers or from private partners: watches and clocks which are significant to the history of horology and absent from the collections of the museum, such as the two astronomical clocks by Daniel Vachey and Joseph Heim, or also the pictorial works highlighting the watchmaking industry such as "L'horloger et sa famille" (the watchmaker and his family) by the painter Zuber-Bühler, or the picture by Grounauer illustrating the typical interior of a watchmaking workshop.

 

To top

Collection

> Visiter la galerie

Depuis sa création en 1980, la Société des amis du Musée international d'horlogerie (amisMIH) contribue de manière exemplaire à l'enrichissement des collections du musée; en effet, les statuts de la société stipulent que les cotisations et autres dons récoltés doivent être attribués à l'achat de pièces de collection et à leur mise en valeur.

Dès 1988, sous la présidence de Claude Laesser, la Société des amisMIH adopte de nouveaux statuts comprenant une nouvelle catégorie de membres, les membres sponsors, principalement constituée d'entreprises horlogères, qui assurent à la Société des amis un budget conséquent, dont une grande partie est dévolue à l'achat de pièces d'horlogerie destinées à compléter la collection du MIH. Cet apport bienvenu permet dans une large mesure de compléter les budgets d'acquisition publics octroyés au musée par la Ville de La Chaux-de-Fonds.

Des achats importants, effectués auprès des principales maisons de vente aux enchères ou de partenaires privés, ont ainsi pu être réalisés: des montres et des horloges significatives pour l'histoire de l'horlogerie et absentes des collections du musée, telles que les deux horloges astronomiques de Daniel Vachey et de Joseph Heim, ou encore des œuvres picturales mettant en valeur l'industrie horlogère comme "L'horloger et sa famille", dû au peintre Zuber-Bühler, ou le tableau de Grounauer révélant l'intérieur typique d'un atelier d'horlogerie.

Vers le haut